Detroit Pistons: Top five teams in franchise history

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Detroit Pistons

Tayshaun Prince #22, Richard Hamilton #32, Chauncey Billups #1 and Lindsey Hunter #10 of the Detroit Pistons (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)

The Detroit Pistons are one of the more storied teams in NBA history, especially if you’re one of those fans that only counts the seasons following the NBA-ABA merger in 1976, as the Pistons are sixth in ring count in that time.

While there have been mistakes made and underwhelming seasons, the Pistons still won three of the most underrated championships in NBA history.

They also had plenty of great teams that didn’t win titles, as the Pistons were very close on several occasions.

During this time, they have put together some great teams with great players on said teams. Although, many of these players are still waiting on the Hall of Fame nod. Once again, still rooting for you Chauncey!

Let’s take a dive into the top-5 Detroit Pistons teams of all time.

Detroit Pistons: Top-5 teams in franchise history

#5: The 2004-05 Finals run

Following the success that the Detroit Pistons had in the 2004, there were huge shoes to fill in the 2004-05 season. These shoes were most definitely filled as they would go on to make the Finals in their second consecutive season, falling short against the great San Antonio Spurs dynasty.

This was a team led by Chauncey Billups, Rip Hamilton, and Hall of Famer Ben Wallace that would win 54 games in the regular season before winning the Eastern Conference and losing to the Spurs in seven games.

#4: The 2005-06 NBA season

This is the season that the Detroit Pistons set the franchise record for most wins in a season at 64 behind new head coach Flip Saunders, the coach that almost got the Minnesota Timberwolves to the Finals two years before.

Once again headed by the trio of Chauncey Billups, Hamilton, and Wallace, this team was one to be reckoned with as they rolled through the regular season and beat a young LeBron James in the second round only to meet the Dwyane Wade and Shaquille O’Neal duo that would go on to win the championship.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse